Virginia-licensed counselors and MFTs renew their licenses annually on June 30th.
- 20 hours of continuing education are required per year to renew
- 2 hours must be in ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science professionals in Virginia
- There is no limit on hours earned through online or home study coursework
- Courses offered by APA, NBCC, and NAADAC approved providers are accepted by the Board
For more information regarding licensing in Virginia, please visit the Virginia Board of Counseling website @ http://www.dhp.state.va.us/counseling/default.htm.
Professional Development Resources is approved as a provider of continuing education by the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC Provider #5590); by the American Psychological Association (APA); and by the National Association of Alcoholism & Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC, Provider #000279).
Over 150 online, web-based, mail order and test only home study courses are available to meet the CE needs of Virginia-licensed counselors and MFTs.