Social workers licensed in the state of Virginia have a license renewal every two years with a June 30th deadline, odd years.
Thirty hours are required for LCSW’s (minimum of 20 hours from Category 1), and fifteen hours are required for LSW’s (minimum 10 hours from Category 1).
There are no limits on home study if ASWB approved (Category 1 “formal” courses).
National accreditation is ASWB, and the licensee must determine if the course is appropriate. Two hours of ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavior science professions in Virginia.
Virginia Board of Social Work
View the Board Website or Email the Board
CE Required: LCSW: 30 hours every 2 years (min 20 hrs Cat 1) / LSW: 15 hours every 2 years (min 10 hrs Cat 1)
Home Study Allowed: No limit if ASWB approved (Category 1 “formal” courses)
License Expiration: 6/30, odd years
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, licensee must determine if course appropriate
Notes: 2 hrs ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavior science prof’s in VA
Date of Info: 05/05/2015
Professional Development Resources, Inc. ACE Approval Number 1046) is approved as a provider for social work continuing education by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) www.aswb.org through the Approved Continuing Education (ACE) Program. Professional Development Resources maintains responsibility for all programs. ASWB Approval Period: 6/12/2000 – 6/12/2016. Social workers should contact their regulatory board to determine course approval for continuing education credits.
Information obtained from the Virginia Board of Social Work on May 5, 2015.