Renewal Information for California Social Workers, Counselors & MFTs

California-licensed Social Workers, Counselors and Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs) are required to renew their licenses every 2 years from the date of issue.

36 hours of continuing education are required to renew. Of those, 6 hours must pertain to law and ethics each renewal. The following courses are required for the first renewal only:

  • 3 hour on aging/long-term care
  • 7 hours on spousal/partner abuse
  • 7 hours on HIV/AIDS

All 36 hours may be earned through electronic means (online courses) that are offered by a board-approved provider.

Professional Development Resources is approved by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences (Approval #PCE1625). Over 100 online courses are available at:

Click here for a brochure explaining the continuing education requirements.