From the Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy & Mental Health Counseling
New CE Requirement for Licensure Renewals
Florida-licensed social workers, counselors and MFTs must now complete a 3-hour laws and rules update course every third biennium. Current licensees would need to complete this course by the biennium ending March 31, 2019.
The new 3-hour requirement is included within the total 30 hours of continuing education required during each biennial renewal cycle. Also required are 2 hours on the prevention of medical errors, 3 hours on ethics and boundary issues, and 2 hours on domestic violence (also required every third renewal).
Professional Development Resources is approved by the Florida Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling (#BAP346) to provide online, video and home study continuing education courses to Florida’s mental health providers. PDR is in process of developing a course to meet the new laws and rules requirement and is expected to publish within the year.